NaNoWriMo 2010 – Day 1 Conclusion

It was slow going this afternoon, primarily because I am quite stubbornly refusing to lock myself away whilst I attempt this challenge and am writing in the living room.  So between my wife watching TV and my little toddler daughter running around drawing, destroying and occasionally attempting to relieve me of my laptop, it was slow going. I don’t mind however, I’d prefer to fail overall (or at least have to work harder) in order to spend that little bit more time with my girls.

After the little girl went to bed however (much later than normal) my wife adjourned to the bedroom and I tore through the remainder of my word count much faster.  Final tally for this evening, the first two scenes in Chapter One written and weighing in at 1878 words.  Not a bad start, we’re off and running.

I was planning another post tonight on the pleasures of the Scrivener Windows Beta, which I began using the second I realised it was available, first to outline my novel for this year’s NaNoWriMo and now to write it.  I am planning on putting it through its paces throughout the month and determining how, and if, it fits my workflow and what I think of it as a novelist’s tool.  I have traditionally used Microsoft Word for all my word processing and I use it a lot at work as well for technical writing, software design documentation and the like, so it will be interesting to see how it compares.

So far i’m quite pleased, but the full post will have to wait as I’m feeling eager to relax and celebrate the first day’s NaNo by finishing off the book I’m reading.  Laurell Hamilton’s latest, Bullet.

So if you’re interested, drop in tomorrow to hear about Scrivener.  In the meantime, feel free to comment and let us know what tools you like to use for your novel writing!

About frater

Author, Software Architect, Husband and Father.
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to NaNoWriMo 2010 – Day 1 Conclusion

  1. Dr8k says:

    Perhaps along with a overview of Scrivener and its features you could also give us a bit of information on how you organise in Word etc? I know that I would love to hear more about how other go about organising and planning their work 🙂

    Lately I’ve been using the sites feature of my google apps account. I created a private wiki and have been using that for everything other than the actual writing (which I do in word). It works very well for the character bios and other structural notes about characters and the world. It isn’t as convenient though for planning scenes and story arcs and you can’t just pick things up and move them around.

    • frater says:

      Sure, always interested in new topics to write about 😉 I’ve also used a wiki to create a concordance of sorts (am still using it for organising notes on computer science research materials that I read through) and prior to trying out Scrivener I used word, and also a wiki-pad type program. Might cover that in a post later this week.

      • Dr8k says:

        Thanks, that would be really useful. After you mentioned it I had a little look at Scrivener, and I’ve looked at others previously. They generally look really useful. My main concerns is about losing flexibility. With word and a wiki site I can write from pretty much anywhere – e.g., I can download the latest version at work on my lunch-break and whack out a few paragraphs without the need to install custom software (and get told off).

      • Dr8k says:

        (Of course, to be honest, I haven’t really had a lunch break I could write through for a while, so this isn’t really an issue)

Leave a Reply

