NaNoWriMo 2010 – Day 1!

NaNoWriMo is here and given that I didn’t realise that the tradition was to stay up till midnight to write the first words (or at least the title), I am sitting down now ready to write my first words.

I’ve showered to wash the day away, washed my hair, shaved and put on a fresh set of clothes.  Sitting in my favourite spot with a bottle of ice water, I’m feeling good and ready to go!

I’m going to keep this blog updated with my progress as I work my way towards the 50,000 words this month and hopefully share a few links and ideas that might come in handy to my fellow writers.

While i’m here, i’d also like to plug November the 6th, the night of 5000 words.  Some of the members of the Elsewhere Australia region have decided that Saturday the 6th is going to be the day we try to put a bit of a buffer, to allow for possible slips later in the month.  Its a good idea and a fun challenge, so I will be taking part – I’d encourage any of you out there reading to join us! Whether or not you’re taking part in NaNoWriMo as a whole, you can still join in the fun of the one day challenge, the night of 5000 words.

What things do you do to get your mind and body in the right space to start a big undertaking? Sound off in the comments!

About frater

Author, Software Architect, Husband and Father.
This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to NaNoWriMo 2010 – Day 1!

  1. Dr8k says:

    Good luck Frater! I may have wimped out but am cheering for you from the dunces corner!

    • frater says:

      You know it’s not too late to join up 😉

      You could always join us for the night of 5000 words on Saturday if you like, work on a few more chapters of your novel.

Leave a Reply

