Submission Opportunity: ‘In Situ’, Dagan Books

In case anyone has some spare writing time this month, or has a suitable story in their unsold pile, Dagan Books is preparing an anthology of science fiction stories about “alien excavations, weird archaeology and the unearthing of mysteries”.  It’s open for submission until Nov. 30th.

Dagan would appear to be an alternate spelling of Lovecraft’s deep-sea demon “Dagon”, and their first book is currently available for pre-order and is an anthology entitled “Cthulhurotica”.  If you’re at all interested in things Lovecraftian, I’m sure that title disturbs you as much as it does me.

The cover art for this soon-to-be-released volume looks very good, and if the production values of the printing and binding of the books are at the same standard, this looks like a publisher worth watching.  Personally I’m debating about whether to attempt a submission for this anthology or not.  On the one hand, I do not have anything suitable ready and the close of submissions is the final day of NaNoWriMo, so I would have to write the first draft, edit and review, rewrite, get some criticism from my circle of readers, rewrite again and submit all while continuing to keep up my word count for NaNoWriMo, which, as I pointed out last post, I am behind on.

In short, it would be absolute insanity.

And yet… in my little idea notebook that I carry around with me I have a small capsule description of a story idea I had that might be absolutely perfect for this anthology, assuming I could do it justice.

It’s very tempting.

More submission information direct from the source, here.

About frater

Author, Software Architect, Husband and Father.
This entry was posted in Submission Ops, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

