Rejection

There is nothing any writer knows better than rejection. Rejection letters are just part of the game.

I was terrified of rejection when I first began to write, so much so that after my first story rejection I didn’t stop writing… but for years I stopped submitting. I’m sure I’m not alone there.

I’ve found that like most things, it gets easier with time. As a writer, or as any type of freelancer, you need to be prepared for rejection. You need to work to get to the point where it doesn’t feel like a personal attack – just focus, pick a new market, try again.

I’ve felt how bad rejection can be… but I’ve also felt that incredible moment when an email arrives, and instead of the usual rejection it’s a publisher asking if you’d like to discuss publication rights. It’s worth the effort.

What got me thinking about this was a post I read on Christian Mihai’s blog, called famous rejections. Sometimes it helps to realise that every writer gets rejected at sometime another, and sometimes a lot. The thing that makes published writers different is that they didn’t stop trying.

Give it a read: http://cristianmihai.net/2013/04/29/famous-rejection-letters-2/

About frater

Author, Software Architect, Husband and Father.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

